Evans hunts down Vergne to acquire Jakarta EPrix

Mitch Evans claimed his 3rd acquire of the Formulation E championship in Jakarta immediately after chasing down and passing Jean-Eric Vergne for the victory.

Vergne experienced led from pole for a lot of the race, till the last 10 minutes when Evans managed to overtake him and keep off Vergne and Edoardo Mortara about a shut last lap to acquire the 1st EPrix held in Indonesia.

Right after Techeetah secured a entrance row lockout in qualifying, with Jean-Eric Vergne beating Antonio Felix da Costa to pole placement. When the lights went out at the commence, Vergne held the guide on the prolonged operate down to the 1st corner, with Da Costa settling into next spot forward of Mitch Evans in 3rd, Edoardo Mortara in fourth and Jake Dennis in fifth.

On the next lap, the Protection Motor vehicle was deployed when Oliver Rowland someway shed his still left-entrance wheel off his Nissan and experienced to pull off the circuit, leaving his wheel stricken on the circuit. The offending merchandise was cleared inside a lap and the race resumed shortly immediately after.

Heading into convert 7, a blunder by Da Costa opened the doorway for Evans and the Jaguar driver did not need to have inviting 2 times, leaping into next spot. Then on the observe lap, Da Costa locked up into the 1st corner, placing him less than tension from Mortara driving.

Right after just about 10 minutes of racing, Vergne, Da Costa and Dennis turned the 1st of the leaders to just take their 1st of two Assault Modes for the race. Vergne dropped to next driving Evans, but acquired the guide again when Evans took Assault Method on the subsequent lap, dropping driving Mortara but trying to keep his placement forward of Da Costa.

Da Costa took his next Assault Method practically right away immediately after his 1st expired, dropping just one placement driving Dennis. The subsequent lap, Mortara ultimately took his 1st Assault Method from next spot, providing the placement again to Evans and rising in 3rd. Upcoming, Vergne took his next Assault Method, handing the guide to Evans. It would not be for prolonged, nevertheless, as Vergne applied his more energy gain to capture and go Evans for the guide again into convert just one.

With just less than fifteen minutes remaining, Evans took his next Assault Method and efficiently retained next spot forward of Da Costa. That still left the Jaguar driver with 4 minutes of more energy to try out and capture Vergne for the guide of the race, nevertheless Evans could not get shut sufficient to obstacle the Techeetah out entrance. With just about 5 minutes remaining in regular race time, Evans at some point caught up to the rear of Vergne and despatched a transfer to the inside of of the chief into convert 7, getting the guide of the race.

Coming into extra time, the best 3 have been all having difficulties for useable electricity remaining and experienced bunched up with Evans, Vergne and Mortara all line astern. Above a tense last lap, Evans managed to continue to keep the two driving him at bay and just take the chequered flag forward of Vergne and Mortara finishing the podium with all 3 motorists crossing the line with zero useable electricity remaining.

Da Costa concluded fourth, forward of Stoffel Vandoorne who retained his championship guide. Jake Dennis concluded sixth, forward of Lucas di Grassi, Pascal Wehrlein, Andre Lotterer and Sam Chicken rounding out the factors finishers immediately after Andre Lotterer was penalised with a 5 next time penalty for creating a collision with Nyck de Vries, which led to the Mercedes driver’s retirement.

The subsequent spherical of the Formulation E championship will just take spot in Marrakesh on July 2nd.

2022 Jakarta EPrix race final results:PositionDriverTeam1Mitch EvansJaguar2Jean-Eric VergneDS Techeetah3Edoardo MortaraVenturi4Antonio Felix da CostaDS Techeetah5Stoffel VandoorneMercedes6Jake DennisAndretti7Lucas di GrassiVenturi8Pascal WehrleinPorsche9Sam BirdJaguar10Sebastien BuemiNissan EDAMS11Andre LottererPorsche12Oliver TurveyNio13Oliver AskewAndretti14Max GuntherNissan EDAMS15Alexander SimsMahindra16Nick CassidyEnvision17Robin FrijnsEnvision18Dan TicktumNio19Sergio Sette CamaraDragon Penske20Antonio GiovinazziDragon PenskeDNFNyck de VriesMercedesDNFOliver RowlandMahindraFormula E

Look through all Formulation E content articles

Previous Ferrari demonstrate two timing faults which price tag Leclerc Monaco earn
Next Formulation E: Mitch Evans wins inaugural Jakarta E-Prix