Toyota survives chaotic start off for one particular-two gain at house

Toyota survived a messy start off to the 6 Hrs of Fuji to chase down Porsche Penske and choose a house one particular-two complete in Japan.

The amount 7 car or truck of Kamui Kobayashi, Jose Maria Lopez and Mike Conway received at Toyota’s house spherical forward of group mates Brendon Hartley, Ryo Hirakawa and Sebastien Buemi ending 2nd to total the one particular-two.

With the two Toyotas on the entrance row, there was a big hurry to the initial corner with Mike Conway major the area in the amount 7 car or truck and the sister amount 8 along with him. But Laurens Vanthoor in the amount 6 Porsche Penske obtained a superior slipstream on the chief and pulled to the within of Conway. As they all braked for the initial switch, most of the Hypercars ran off the observe, such as the two Toyotas, with the amount 6 Porsche Penske rising in the direct forward of the amount fifty Ferrari and Conway in the amount 7 Toyota.

The amount 5 Porsche Penske experienced a puncture following speak to from the amount fifty one Ferrari at the initial corner. The good thing is for its motorists, the Protection Auto was deployed on the initial lap for a GTE AM car or truck trapped in the gravel at switch one particular. At the restart, Conway experimented with to choose 2nd from Molina at the chicane but was shoved on to the grass, dropping a position to the 2nd Ferrari of James Calado.

Conway at some point handed Calado for 3rd and later on overtook Molina for 2nd down the straight for 2nd with an intense transfer into switch one particular. In advance, the amount 6 Porsche Penske ongoing to direct for properly around the initial 50 % of the race, but when Kevin Estre took around the car or truck, Jose Maria Lopez in the amount 7 Toyota commenced to set the force on the chief, as Ryo Hirakawa in the amount 8 Toyota caught up to its sister car or truck.

With just around two several hours remaining, the two Toyotas swapped positions with Hirakawa going into 2nd and then the direct as he dived previous at the chicane. Estre then introduced the Porsche Penske into the pits to hand around to Andre Lotterer, with both of those Toyotas resuming forward of him following their following stops, as Brendon Hartley and Kobayashi took around their respective cars and trucks.

Kobayashi in the amount 7 Toyota caught up to Hartley, who was instructed to permit his group principal by way of into the direct. Kobayashi prolonged his direct around the closing ninety minutes of the race and easily secured the amount 7 crew’s fourth gain of the period. Hartley crossed the line virtually forty seconds driving in 2nd, with the amount 6 Porsche Penske finishing the podium, the only car or truck on the direct lap with the Toyotas.

The two Ferraris of amount fifty and fifty one completed fourth and fifth, respectively, forward of the Jota Porsche in 6. The two Peugeots of amount ninety four and amount ninety three completed seventh and eighth, forward of the Proton Porsche ninth and the sole Cadillac of car or truck amount two tenth.

Toyota’s victory secured them the manufacturer’s championship possessing received each individual race of the period apart from the greatest prize, the Le Mans 24 Hrs, which was claimed by Ferrari. In the other courses, WRT received in LMP2 with car or truck amount forty one with Robert Kubica crossing the line initial, whilst AF Corse amount fifty four took the honours in GTE AM.

Race resultPosNo.ClassTeamCarDriversLaps17Hypercar (H)Toyota Gazoo RacingToyota GR010Mike Conway/Kamui Kobayashi/Jose Maria Lopez22928Hypercar (H)Toyota Gazoo RacingToyota GR010Sebastien Buemi/Brendon Hartley/Ryo Hirakawa22936Hypercar (H)Porsche Penske MotorsportPorsche 963Kevin Estre/Andre Lotterer/Laurens Vanthoor229450Hypercar (H)Ferrari AF CorseFerrari 499PAntonio Fuoco/Miguel Molina/Nicklas Nielsen228551Hypercar (H)Ferrari AF CorseFerrari 499PAlessandro Pier Guidi/James Calado/Antonio Giovinazzi228638Hypercar (H)Hertz Crew JOTAPorsche 963Antonio Felix Da Costa/Will Stevens/Yifei Ye228794Hypercar (H)Peugeot TotalenergiesPeugeot 9X8Loic Duval/Gustavo Menezes/Nico Mueller228893Hypercar (H)Peugeot TotalenergiesPeugeot 9X8Paul di Resta/Mikkel Jensen/Jean-Eric Vergne226999Hypercar (H)Proton CompetitionPorsche 963Gianmaria Bruni/Harry Tincknell/Neel Jani221102Hypercar (H)Cadillac RacingCadillac V-Sequence.REarl Bamber/Alex Lynn/Richard Westbrook2191141LMP2Team WRTOreca 07 – GibsonRui Andrade/Louis Deletraz/Robert Kubica2191222LMP2United AutosportsOreca 07 – GibsonPhilip Hanson/Ben Hanley/Frederick Lubin2181331LMP2Team WRTOreca 07 – GibsonSean Gelael/Ferdinand Habsburg/Robin Frijns2181423LMP2United AutosportsOreca 07 – GibsonJoshua Pierson/Giedo van der Garde/Oliver Jarvis2181536LMP2Alpine Elf TeamOreca 07 – GibsonMatthieu Vaxiviere/Charles Milesi/Julienal Canal2181628LMP2JOTAOreca 07 – GibsonDavid Heinemeier Hansson/Oliver Rasmussen/Pietro Fittipaldi2181710LMP2Vector SportOreca 07 – GibsonRyan Cullen/Gabriel Aubry/Matthias Kaiser217189LMP2Prema RacingOreca 07 – GibsonBent Viscaal/Juan Manuel Correa/Andrea Caldarelli2171934LMP2Inter Europol CompetitionOreca 07 – GibsonJakub Smiechowski/Albert Costa/Fabio Scherer2172063LMP2Prema RacingOreca 07 – GibsonDoriane Pin/Daniil Kvyat/Mathias Beche2162135LMP2Alpine Elf TeamOreca 07 – GibsonAndre Negrão/Olli Caldwell/Memo Rojas216224HypercarFloyd Vanwall Racing TeamVanwall Vandervell 680Esteban Guerrieri/Tristan Vautier/Joao Paulo de OIiveira2112354LMGTE AmAF CorseFerrari 488 GTE EvoThomas Flohr/Francesco Castellacci/Davide Rigon2102457LMGTE AmKessel RacingFerrari 488 GTE EvoTakeshi Kimura/Scott Huffaker/Kei Cozzolino2102533LMGTE AmCorvette RacingChevrolet Corvette C8.RNicky Catsburg/Ben Keating/Nicolas Varrone2102685LMGTE AmIron DamesPorsche 911 RSR-19Sarah Bovy/Michelle Gatting/Rahel Frey2102756LMGTE AmProject one – AOPorsche 911 RSR-19Efrin Castro/Guilherme Oliveira/Matteo Cairoli2102877LMGTE AmDempsey-Proton RacingPorsche 911 RSR-19Christian Ried/Mikkel Pedersen/Julien Andlauer2102998LMGTE AmNorthwest AMRAston Martin Vantage AMRIan James/Daniel Mancinelli/Alex Riberas2103086LMGTE AmGR RacingPorsche 911 RSR-19Michael Wainwright/Benjamin Barker/Riccardo Pera2103183LMGTE AmRichard Mille AF CorseFerrari 488 GTE EvoLuis Perez Companc/Alessio Rovera/Lilou Wadoux20932777LMGTE AmD’Station RacingAston Martin Vantage AMRSatoshi Hoshino/Casper Stevenson/Tomonobu Fujii2093360LMGTE AmIron LynxPorsche 911 RSR-19Claudio Schiavoni/Matteo Cressoni/Alessio Picariello2093421LMGTE AmAF CorseFerrari 488 GTE EvoSimon Mann/Julien Piguet/Ulysse de Pauw2083525LMGTE AmORT by TFAston Martin Vantage AMRAhmad Al Harthy/Michael Dinan/Charlie Eastwood206365Hypercar (H)Porsche Penske MotorsportPorsche 963Dane Cameron/Michael Christensen/Frederic Makowiecki185

Globe Stamina Championship

Look through all Globe Stamina Championship content

Previous GPDA director Russell on the a few parts that most problem F1’s motorists
Next Mercedes ‘slipped on basic things’ by “overanalysing” – Russell

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.